District Collectorate, Thane





Welcome To Collectorate of Thane District


Thane City was known as Shreesthank. The first ever railway train was started on 16th April, 1853 from Boribunder to Thane. As per census of 2011, Thane district having 1,10,34,131 population which is highest in the county and also district population is highest more than 119 countries out of 193 countries of the world. Thane district is divided into three parts known as costal zone, hilly track and urban zone. There is highest tribal population in Thane district. Thane district is only one of the district in the state having 17 planning authorities e.g.7 municipal corporations, 5 municipal councils, CIDCO, MMRDA, MIDC etc. Thane district is well known for highest revenue collection. There is 4 Members of Parliament & 24 Members of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly. There are highest irrigation projects in Thane district and Shahapur tahsil is known for irrigation projects. Last 3-4 years, district is known for turmaric and taser silk production. The first automic power project is situated at Tarapur in district.




Recent Update


Indian Govt.


Maharashtra Govt.


Divisional Commissioner Office Divisional Commissioner Office


Thane Election






Home       |      About This Site      |      Terms of Use      |          Disclaimer and Policies     |    Contact Us

copyrightThis is an Official Website of Thane District. All Rights Reserved


Designed by National Informatics Centre, Thane.
Caution/Disclaimer: This information is supplied by the various departments.
National Informatics Centre will not be responsible for any information that may be inadvertently incorrect.


District Information Information Zone E-Suvidha Revenue Department Public Distribution Public Grievance Govt. Schemes English contact us Marathi